Bottle condition vs kegging and Heavy Grapefruit

Reactions to and impressions of commercial and home made beers and beverages. Travelling and experiencing beers from around the world.

Moderator: slothrob

DTS78KC
Light Lager
Light Lager

Bottle condition vs kegging and Heavy Grapefruit

Post by DTS78KC »

Ok, I am kinda new to brewing Feb 08 but have 7 batch's under my belt. 3 extract, 1 malt pwdr (experiment lager) and 3 all grain. My question is does bottle conditioning (priming sugar) add sweetness to the beer versus using a kegging system? Tring to cut down some of the sugar profile in my beers. The wheat seems too sweet. OG for wheat was 1.054 and FG ws 1.017.

Also grapefruit flavor is from what? Seems pretty heavy in this beer.
Fermentation 2-3 days at 70F and the dropped it to 67-68 for 11-12day
Give a man a beer and he'll waste an hour, teach him to brew and he'll waste a lifetime- Nuco Gordo
slothrob

Beer Flavors

Post by slothrob »

Yeah, 1.017 is probably high for a WHeat beer. Priming sugar ferments out completely to alcohol and CO2, so it doesn't add any sweetness. The major sources of sweetness are Malt Extract (some of which has a lot of unfermentable sugar), Crystal Malt (above 0.5 #, Crystal Malt can add a lot of persistent sweetness), Mash Temperature (higher mash temperatures make sweeter beer), high initial OG, and yeast choice (some yeasts are less attenuative and leave more sugars in the final beer).

If you tell us the recipe, we might be able to find the source of your problem.

Grapefruit flavors come from certain hops, typically hops called C-hops or AMerican hops. The common grapefruity ones are Cascade, Chinook & Centennial, but Amarillo and Simco can give similar flavors or accent the grapefruit flavor of some other hops.
BTP v2.0.* Windows XP
DTS78KC
Light Lager
Light Lager

Post by DTS78KC »

Thanks for the reply here is the recipe as follows.
5.25# Midwest wheat
4.75# am 2 row
8oz wheat flaked
8oz rye flaked