Is it lost?

What went wrong? Was this supposed to happen? Should I throw it out? What do I do now?

Moderator: slothrob

jcassady
Light Lager
Light Lager

Is it lost?

Post by jcassady »

Hello all, I'm a newbie to brewing and I think I may have lost my first batch of beer. My two previous batches have been pretty good but the OG on both was between 1.040 and 1.049, so this time I decided to make a batch that would be a little stronger so here is what i have:
4 lbs wheat DME
3 lbs light DME
3 lbs rasberry puree
all in all I had an OG of 1.066 and i pitched my yeast when it got to 75 degrees it was WhiteLabs Abbey Ale, this was Sunday. The fermentation started up nicely by Monday morning. I neglected checking on it again until Tuesday after work and noticed a very very active fermentation compared to my last two batches the water in my 3 piece air lock was discolored (foam). Well I had forgotten something I had read about it clogging your air lock and exploading, and when I came home Wednesday after work guess what, the lid had blown off the fermentor.

So, I cleaned up the lid and airlock and resanitized it and put it back on and within 10 minutes the airlock was bubbling again. Today, Thursday I get home and find the airlock all discolored again, so I have taken it out, put in a hose and put the end of the hose into a vase of water.

My question is do you think it batch got contaminated when the lid blew off the first time? I don't know how long the lid was off could have been as long as 16 hours. It does still seem to be fermenting though, but does that mean anything? Any advise, or suggestions would be great.

Thanks, Jim
jayhawk
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

Must have been a mess

Post by jayhawk »