Adding Fermentable sugars in secondary

Brewing processes and methods. How to brew using extract, partial or all-grain. Tips and tricks.

Moderator: slothrob

danbrew11
Light Lager
Light Lager

Adding Fermentable sugars in secondary

Post by danbrew11 »

Ok, so i am kinda new at this.... I have a Lager fermenting at 55 degrees has been fermenting for 10 days and it seems to be almost done fermenting when it should take 2-3 weeks. I think this is due to the lack of fermentable sugars in the recipe i put together. I tasted it yesterday and it has a good taste, just missing a lot of alcohol. I plan on transferring to a secondary over the weekend and was wondering, if it's still lacking in alcohol if i could add some boiled rice syrup solids or extract to the secondary during transfer to increase the ABV. would there be enough yeast left over in the secondary to continue fermentation? Thanks.
Oh and this is the recipe i used:

for a 2 gallon batch

1.5 Gal. boiling

1lb 8oz of Crystal Malt 60
8oz light DME
8oz flaked corn maze
8oz cara-pilis

.5 oz Hallertau hops 60 min
.5 oz Mt. hood hops 25 min

SafLager S-23 Dry Yeast

I did not Mash the grains, just steeped them for about 25 minutes
slothrob

Lager

Post by slothrob »

10-14 days would be a pretty normal fermentation time for a Lager Yeast at 55°F. 2-3 weeks would be slow, in my experience. Most of my lagers are done with most of their active fermentation in about 1-1.5 weeks, with a few more days at about 62°F to guarantee that they ferment to completion and clean up some of the fermentation byproducts.

You could add up to about 0.5# of Table Sugar. I wouldn't bother with using rice syrup, it won't add anything that regular sugar will, and sugar is cheap and you probably already have it in your kitchen.