Fermentation Question

Brewing processes and methods. How to brew using extract, partial or all-grain. Tips and tricks.

Moderator: slothrob

AKA_THE_HULK

Fermentation Question

Post by AKA_THE_HULK »

I have been brewing for about 3 months now and have had pretty good success with all of my brews so far. I have a question in regards to the ferementation process. What is the earliest that you can keg after the primary fermentation process is complete? I dont bottle just because it is a hassle for me and like to keg because you always have ice cold brew at your fingertips. I know that you are supposed to wait a minimum of 14 days prior to cold rack and kegging but just wanted to see if there is any other theories out there or if somebody knows different. thanks in advance.
Legman
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

RE:Fermentation Question

Post by Legman »

Well, you're probably gonna get several opinions about this, which is what I found when I first started brewing. So here's mine based on research and experience.

There are some bi-products that are produced during fermentation, which add off-flavors to your beer. Over an aging process, the suspended yeast will consume these bi-products resulting in a better tasting brew. In most cases, you will taste these if you consume you beer too young. Some ales, like wheat ales, are better consumed early and darker and/or higher gravity ales usually require a longer aging time.

It has been my experience that most of my brews start tasting the best within 4-8 weeks of bottling or kegging. I also have found that using a secondary is unnecessary(this is also a personal preference.) I'm finding it to be beneficial to leave my beer in the primary longer than 14 days. I leave it in the primary for 3 weeks if I'm bottling and 4 weeks if I'm going to keg it.