sediment in the pour

Brewing processes and methods. How to brew using extract, partial or all-grain. Tips and tricks.

Moderator: slothrob

Popiseed

sediment in the pour

Post by Popiseed »

Hello, I am new to message boards, but I did post an introduction in the general page. a quick question around sediments. I have not filtered the batch of Amber that I just brewed. I am wondering if there are any steps before botteling that could help with this. I do not have a secondary fermentor (so i need one?). What i did was brewed the wort, pitched the yeast, waited for a week...until airlock and SG was my targe, transfered from primary via syphon into botteling bucket. During this I added my priming sugar, then bottled. The finished result is great on taste, carbonation, , however, clarity is somewhat skewed. Any suggestions? Thanks...
I'll think of one later.
wottaguy
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

Re: Sediment...

Post by wottaguy »

Hi Popi!

A lot of homebrewers are currently doing away with the secondary fermentation step and are instead doing their primary fermentation, then letting it ferment out and stay in the primary vessel for the same durations. It is said that no harm will come to the beer from the spent yeast as long as you have healthy yeast, excellent sanatation habits and you are fermentating under ideal controlled temperatures. For an ale this would be in the 65 - 70 degF range. (personally i never let the fermentation ever get to 70 degF and I pitch at or near 64 degF and let it warm up to 67 degF and i'll hold it there for the duration around 4 to 6 weeks).