New to the game

Brewing processes and methods. How to brew using extract, partial or all-grain. Tips and tricks.

Moderator: slothrob

AUTigerbrew

New to the game

Post by AUTigerbrew »

Hey everyone,
I am brand new to all of this having just recieved by brewing equipment as a Christmas gift. I have already jumped in and started my first batch which is ann Imperial Stout that was just a beer kit recipe. I will be bottling next week. My real question is where do I go from here. I would love to hear some advice about what might be a good brew to try next. I would like to try a lighter beer next. Ideally, I want to try my hand at Munich Helles or a Pilsner Urquell. What would be your advice for my next brew (keeping in mind that I am very new and not familiar with many brewing techniques just yet. Thanks

JS
BillyBock
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout

Welcome

Post by BillyBock »

Welcome to the clan! Nothing like pouring a friend a beer and him asking "You made this?"

As far as what to brew? Hmmm...I'd suggest a Pale Ale or an India Pale Ale--in my opinion you just can't go wrong with one of these. The Munich Helles and Pilsner are lager beers. In order to pull these off successfully, it will require some gear and techniques that you may not have just yet.

Spend time focusing on your procedures, especially your sanitation. It's a tearful event when you lose a batch because you were sloppy with sanitation. Get the hang of the basics and then move on up. Spend time looking through various books and ask your questions here. John Palmer has a good online book here www.howtobrew.com Incidentally, what kind of brewing kit did you get?

Oh and the other starting tip I'd give you is to not use straight tap water. It contains chlorine (some places use chloramine) to keep nasties down in the pipes. However, chlorine reacts in the boil and creates medicinal flavors. Yuk..So unless you want to make a Vicks 44 brew you might want to use bottled water or charcoal filtered water.