Questions on the program

General discussion on BeerTools Pro Software.
wrz0170

Questions on the program

Post by wrz0170 »

Hello! I am considering a couple of programs to assist me in my brew making (i'm a newbie).

I was wondering if this program offers a printable "checklist" when you go to make your brew? So many things to consider, it's kind of nice to keep everything in line.

Secondly, is there such a thing as a "all grain" to "extract" converter? I am not quite ready to take the leap to all grain, but many recipes call for all grain.

Thanks!
jctull
Pale Ale
Pale Ale

Post by jctull »

You do get lists of ingredients as well as a schedule for you mash, although it sounds like you will not be mashing.

I do not believe there is a feature for converting from all-grain to extract. The latest issue of Zymurgy has some recommendations for doing that. Not handy at the moment, but I believe it was in the front letters from readers.
OS X 10.5, MBP, 2GB
wrz0170

Post by wrz0170 »

jctull wrote:You do get lists of ingredients as well as a schedule for you mash, although it sounds like you will not be mashing.

I do not believe there is a feature for converting from all-grain to extract. The latest issue of Zymurgy has some recommendations for doing that. Not handy at the moment, but I believe it was in the front letters from readers.
Not quite to the mashing part yet :) What I was looking for is a "task" checklist that you can print out to use on brew day to keep everything in line.
slothrob

Post by slothrob »

The program is useful for converting recipes to extract because it shows you the resulting OG and color, but it requires an understanding, on the users part, of what grains can be replaced with which extract, which grains can be steeped, and which grains need to be mashed. Reductions may need to be made in the amount of Crystal Malts for extract recipes, also, as they tend to end with higher FG's, but this is more a matter of trial and error.