Error from Online>My Recipes...

General discussion on BeerTools Pro Software.

Error from Online>My Recipes...

Postby Push Eject » Wed Sep 13, 2006 12:40 pm

When I try to select "My Recipes..." from the Online menu I receive the following error:
Error logging in (103).

I am at work behind a firewall and proxy server, but can access the internet fine with the settings I have in my network preferences. Is BTP using a different port?

Cheers,
Push Eject
User avatar
Push Eject
Double IPA
Double IPA
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2001 2:01 pm
Location: Lancaster, CA, US

Re: Error from Online>My Recipes...

Postby jeff » Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:16 pm

Push Eject wrote:I am at work behind a firewall and proxy server, but can access the internet fine with the settings I have in my network preferences. Is BTP using a different port?


BTP is using port 443 (standard SSL port). The error sounds like BTP is unable to access the destination address; my guess is the firewall. Is there a problem using port 443 in your configuration?
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1410
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

Re: Error from Online>My Recipes...

Postby Push Eject » Wed Sep 13, 2006 2:42 pm

jeff wrote:Is there a problem using port 443 in your configuration?

Error logging in (103). :D

I have no way of opening or blocking ports... I'm sure it will work fine at home. Is there a way to pick other ports or to test what I can use? I know 80 and 21 are open, of course, but cannot tell you more than that.

Cheers,
Charlie
Push Eject
User avatar
Push Eject
Double IPA
Double IPA
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2001 2:01 pm
Location: Lancaster, CA, US

Postby petermyers » Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:33 pm

I get the same error at work, but can access it no problems from home. It is simply the configuration of wour workplace server. Like me, you will probably just have to not use this feature when at work... or perhaps a few bottles of your finest might sway the system administrator your way :P
System:
Pentium 4 3.1GHz, 1G RAM, 128M Radeon 9600, Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2
User avatar
petermyers
Light Lager
Light Lager
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 7:10 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

A real fix

Postby AustinTim » Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:33 am

petermyers wrote:I get the same error at work, but can access it no problems from home. It is simply the configuration of wour workplace server. Like me, you will probably just have to not use this feature when at work... or perhaps a few bottles of your finest might sway the system administrator your way :P


the real fix would for BTP to use/inherit the IE / windows internet settings so that things like proxy support would be (automatically) used when trying to connect to the internet.

-tim
-TDS
AustinTim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:28 pm

Re: A real fix

Postby jeff » Thu Apr 29, 2010 12:21 pm

AustinTim wrote:
petermyers wrote:I get the same error at work, but can access it no problems from home. It is simply the configuration of wour workplace server. Like me, you will probably just have to not use this feature when at work... or perhaps a few bottles of your finest might sway the system administrator your way :P


the real fix would for BTP to use/inherit the IE / windows internet settings so that things like proxy support would be (automatically) used when trying to connect to the internet.

-tim

Happen to know the API calls for that?
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1410
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

Re: A real fix

Postby AustinTim » Thu Apr 29, 2010 3:07 pm

jeff wrote:
AustinTim wrote:
petermyers wrote:I get the same error at work, but can access it no problems from home. It is simply the configuration of wour workplace server. Like me, you will probably just have to not use this feature when at work... or perhaps a few bottles of your finest might sway the system administrator your way :P


the real fix would for BTP to use/inherit the IE / windows internet settings so that things like proxy support would be (automatically) used when trying to connect to the internet.

-tim

Happen to know the API calls for that?


I asked on a wide forum at work (should be several hundred programmers on it)... i'll let you know what i get back. unfortunately i'm a hardware guy... i could design you a server to run on... you'd like the 24 core / 16GB ram "desktop" i use at work...
-TDS
AustinTim
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:28 pm


Return to BeerTools Pro General Topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests