Importing Promash and Beersmith Recipes

General discussion on BeerTools Pro Software.

Importing Promash and Beersmith Recipes

Postby Doc » Sun Aug 06, 2006 8:20 pm

I've been messing around trying to import some of my Promash Recipes and am getting some weird things happening.
The recipes import, but the Style Summary at the bottom of the page always goes off the chart for the OG, Colour, Bitterness etc.
I though it might be the units etc, and have messed around with the defaults between Imperial and Metric.

Here is a screenshot to show what I mean.

Image

I've tried it on two different computers (both WindowsXP). Tried it with a fresh install, before messing around with measurements settings.

When trying to import a BeerSmith BeerXML file I get the following error.
"<recipename> does not appear to be a BeerXML recipe file."

I can open the file and it all appears to be a valid XML file.

Any thoughts on both/either ?

Beers,
Doc
User avatar
Doc
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 3:10 am

Recipe file

Postby jeff » Sun Aug 06, 2006 9:17 pm

Thanks for the screen shot; can you send me the ProMash file and the BeerXML file so I can debug using them? Thanks!
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1402
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

Recipe import issues

Postby jeff » Fri Aug 11, 2006 3:12 pm

The next update will fix both of these problems. Thanks again for the screenshot!
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1402
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

Postby Doc » Mon Aug 14, 2006 10:25 pm

Hey Jeff,

Just been playing with the latest version, and the Promash import is looking a bit off still in the Analysis. Much better than before.
Here is a screenshot.

Image

Beers,
Doc[/img]
User avatar
Doc
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 3:10 am

Final volume

Postby jeff » Mon Aug 14, 2006 10:34 pm

At first examination, I can see that the final volume differs from the recipe in Promash. I think this may be due to the fact that the evaporation loss is not being factored in on the Promash side. What I think you need to do is 1) set final volume to 40L 2) lock final volume 3) set kettle volume to 40L. This should force volume gain/loss to update to correct the difference. Volume gain/loss will end up around 7.36L.
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1402
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

Postby Doc » Tue Aug 15, 2006 1:11 am

At a quick glance that appears to have bought the numbers back inline.
I guess the problem is that some of the info is held in the Promash Brewsession, not the recipe file.
Will do some more testing.

Doc
User avatar
Doc
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 3:10 am


Return to BeerTools Pro General Topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests