Point BTP to a Different Library Folder

Suggestions and discussion about upcoming features in future BeerTools Pro releases.

Point BTP to a Different Library Folder

Postby Brewtus » Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:47 pm

I have BTP installed on a primary (Vista) machine and a secondary (XP), both on my home network. Sometimes someone else is using the primary computer, then I want to use the secondary computer to access the library of the primary computer. I have set up network sharing so that I can see the Vista's recipes from the XP computer.

A workaraound is to copy recipe files before and after I work on the secondary computer, but it would be so much easier if I could just permanently point the secondary computer to use the primary's recipes. Also, this way i don't have to worry about synchronization.

Edit: I realized that BTP can already relocate the library (Edit, Preferences). :oops: I got it working after three attempts. BTP complained that the library was either not a library or it was encrypted. BTP became unstable and I had to reboot twice. After the last reboot it is working as I had hoped.
Brewtus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 12:59 pm
Location: Snohomish, WA

one library two computers

Postby slothrob » Mon Jan 11, 2010 7:07 am

Good tip!

So, you can edit recipes from either computer and the other one sees the current changes?
BTP v2.0.* Windows XP
User avatar
slothrob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1768
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:36 pm
Location: Greater Boston

Re: one library two computers

Postby Brewtus » Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:20 am

slothrob wrote:Good tip!

So, you can edit recipes from either computer and the other one sees the current changes?


Yes, that's right.

I don't know why I had trouble setting it up, but it is working now, from both ends. I suppose it is going to be important to have the primary computer on when starting BTP on the secondary, but that was the point of this anyway.
Brewtus
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 12:59 pm
Location: Snohomish, WA

Re: one library two computers

Postby jeff » Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:22 pm

Brewtus wrote:I don't know why I had trouble setting it up, but it is working now, from both ends.

I love when stuff works :D
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1413
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC


Return to BeerTools Pro Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest