Rounding out values

Brewing processes and methods. How to brew using extract, partial or all-grain. Tips and tricks.

Moderator: slothrob

Rounding out values

Postby kevponce » Sat May 30, 2009 7:13 pm

As I calculate my batch sparge I get a lot of oddball water volumes which just seem impractical to try and measure eg 6.48 gallons 1.96 2.38. So what is the proper "lock" boxes to uncheck or the proper procedures to follow when trying to round these out, and what will it effect?
User avatar
kevponce
Pale Ale
Pale Ale
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 5:31 pm
Location: Northern New Jersey

RE: Rounding out values

Postby Legman » Sat May 30, 2009 8:16 pm

I find it impractical as well to measure those kind of volumes. So my solution to this is when I set up my mash and sparge volumes, I keep them in increments of .25 gallons (1 quart). The preboil volume never come out an easily measured volume, so I just assume it's what BTP tells me.
Then I just adjust my boil time to achieve my final kettle volume after boil.
It's still not 100% accurate, but it's close and I get a consistent efficiency percentage.
User avatar
Legman
Strong Ale
Strong Ale
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 9:02 pm
Location: North Carolina

Postby kevponce » Sat May 30, 2009 10:01 pm

So what is locked or unlocked
User avatar
kevponce
Pale Ale
Pale Ale
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 5:31 pm
Location: Northern New Jersey

Postby Legman » Sun May 31, 2009 7:01 am

Look in BTP, under help tab, help topics, building recipes, then Configuring Batch Size.
This explains what you are asking.
User avatar
Legman
Strong Ale
Strong Ale
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 9:02 pm
Location: North Carolina

round values

Postby slothrob » Sun May 31, 2009 7:08 am

You can freely edit all the volumes in the Schedule except the Total Runoff, if the Lock box is checked.

After BTP has calculated all your precise volumes, uncheck the lock box next to Total Runoff in the Batch Sparge Editor window. This will allow you to edit the Sparge Volume to rounded numbers. Unfortunately, it won't set your Kettle Volume in the main window to that new volume, but you can just enter your actual pre-boil volume.

Or, you can round the infusion values with the lock box checked and only the sparge volume will be calculated to a precise value.
BTP v2.0.* Windows XP
User avatar
slothrob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1769
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:36 pm
Location: Greater Boston


Return to Techniques, Methods, Tips & How To

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests

cron