BeerTools Pro Bug Reports Archive A

Found a problem? Post details on BeerTools Pro errors and how they are caused.

Re: Problem loading recipe from BeerTools.com

Postby slothrob » Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:30 pm

jeff wrote:This occurs with specific recipes but I don't know what the cause is yet. Which recipe is giving you trouble?

Denny Conn's Rye Pale Ale JP in AZ English IPA Apr 21, 2003
BTP v2.0.* Windows XP
User avatar
slothrob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1768
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:36 pm
Location: Greater Boston

Re: Problem loading recipe from BeerTools.com

Postby billvelek » Mon Sep 08, 2008 10:24 pm

slothrob wrote:
jeff wrote:This occurs with specific recipes but I don't know what the cause is yet. Which recipe is giving you trouble?

Denny Conn's Rye Pale Ale JP in AZ English IPA Apr 21, 2003
Gentlemen, I tried to duplicate the problem but Denny's recipe loaded up just fine for me. Slothrob, is that an Apple platform you're running? Perhaps this is an 'apple' specific problem. For what it's worth, that recipe is the only one that I've ever downloaded, so maybe it's an intermittent problem and I was just lucky this time.

By the way, Jeff, in checking these most recent posts in this thread, I noticed that I never received an answer to my question posted on August 14th regarding BTP including dextrins in its sugar to alcohol conversions, and how I think we can work around it. Would you care to look at that and respond? Thanks.

Cheers.

Bill Velek
Visit www.tinyurl.com/bvelek - portal to my brewing sites: 3,100+ members on 'Grow-Hops', and 1,350+ brewers on my 'BrewingEquip' group.
Running BTP v1.5.3 on WinXP 2005 SP3 w/AMD Athlon 64@3800+, 1GigRam, Res 1024x768
User avatar
billvelek
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Arkansas, USA

Jeff, about that 'incorrect number of ingredients' problem

Postby billvelek » Tue Sep 09, 2008 12:31 am

jeff wrote:
billvelek wrote:Incidentally, Jeff, while going through this process, I noticed that when I changed the number of ingredients, the number shown in the drop down menu remains at 'two' -- one fermentable/grain and one hop, even though I have selected as many as 15 different hops. I've never noticed that before, but think it is not correct.

I am having trouble duplicating this problem. Can you describe specifically what you do that results in inaccurate counts in the display menu?

I downloaded Denny Conn's recipe to try to see if BTP crashed, and although it didn't, I did notice that the 'number of ingredients' problem showed up for me again. Take a look: http://home.alltel.net/billvelek/ingredient-error-1.JPG Note that Denny had actually selected 16 ingredients, but BTP lists a total of 11. I didn't "do" anything except click on the menu so that I could go to the mash schedule, and I somehow noticed the number was incorrect.

Also, when I checked his mash schedule, nothing shows up on my computer; is this because ... 1.) he didn't have one entered on his recipe, or ... 2.) the mash schedules can not be downloaded yet from the online recipe database?

Thanks.

Bill Velek
Visit www.tinyurl.com/bvelek - portal to my brewing sites: 3,100+ members on 'Grow-Hops', and 1,350+ brewers on my 'BrewingEquip' group.
Running BTP v1.5.3 on WinXP 2005 SP3 w/AMD Athlon 64@3800+, 1GigRam, Res 1024x768
User avatar
billvelek
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Arkansas, USA

Re: Jeff, about that 'incorrect number of ingredients' probl

Postby jeff » Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:36 am

billvelek wrote:I downloaded Denny Conn's recipe to try to see if BTP crashed, and although it didn't, I did notice that the 'number of ingredients' problem showed up for me again. Take a look: http://home.alltel.net/billvelek/ingredient-error-1.JPG Note that Denny had actually selected 16 ingredients, but BTP lists a total of 11. I didn't "do" anything except click on the menu so that I could go to the mash schedule, and I somehow noticed the number was incorrect.


Thanks for looking into the download problem. I will take a look at the problem with display menu updates.

billvelek wrote:Also, when I checked his mash schedule, nothing shows up on my computer; is this because ... 1.) he didn't have one entered on his recipe, or ... 2.) the mash schedules can not be downloaded yet from the online recipe database?


Online recipes don't have mash schedules except what the author posts in the notes.

Thanks!
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

Re: Problem loading recipe from BeerTools.com

Postby jeff » Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:04 am

billvelek wrote:By the way, Jeff, in checking these most recent posts in this thread, I noticed that I never received an answer to my question posted on August 14th regarding BTP including dextrins in its sugar to alcohol conversions, and how I think we can work around it. Would you care to look at that and respond? Thanks.


Currently, BTP ignores fermentability. This carries over from the online ingredient database which excludes an "is fermentable" setting. The attenuation setting is used to compensate for unfermentable ingredients. Here is a workaround:

Lets say you have a recipe with three grains:
    Pale Malt - 80%
    Munich Malt - 10%
    Dextrine Malt - 10%


The dextrine malt is unfermentable and accounts for 10% of the grist. You can adjust your attenuation like this:

Apparent Attenuation - Apparent Attenuation * 10% = Adjusted Attenuation

For this example: 75% - 75% * 10% = 67.5%

If you correct your attenuation this way, make a note of the adjustment in your notes. This way you know to reverse the correction when BTP is updated to do this automatically.
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

Re: Problem loading recipe from BeerTools.com

Postby jeff » Tue Sep 09, 2008 2:17 pm

slothrob wrote:When I load a recipe from BeerTools.com "online>my recipes...", then close the popup window, I get an error message: "A problem occurred (6), the program may be unstable, do you want to continue?" It's very reproducible, and it's been mentioned as a crashing problem with BTP on another forum.

The only other program I have open is Safari.


Does the problem occur if you logout before closing the online window?
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

Re: Problem loading recipe from BeerTools.com

Postby billvelek » Tue Sep 09, 2008 4:31 pm

jeff wrote:snip ... If you correct your attenuation this way, make a note of the adjustment in your notes. This way you know to reverse the correction when BTP is updated to do this automatically.

Thanks, Jeff. I take it, then, that BTP will eventually be updated to automatically adjust for unfermentables, which will be nice ... even though most of us probably don't use them very often. Still ... we all want this to be an accurate program. Thanks for all of your hard effort; you have done a phenomenal job!

Cheers.

Bill Velek
Visit www.tinyurl.com/bvelek - portal to my brewing sites: 3,100+ members on 'Grow-Hops', and 1,350+ brewers on my 'BrewingEquip' group.
Running BTP v1.5.3 on WinXP 2005 SP3 w/AMD Athlon 64@3800+, 1GigRam, Res 1024x768
User avatar
billvelek
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Arkansas, USA

Re: Problem loading recipe from BeerTools.com

Postby slothrob » Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:35 pm

jeff wrote:
Does the problem occur if you logout before closing the online window?

No, it doesn't. Logging out prior to closing the window seems to prevent the problem.
BTP v2.0.* Windows XP
User avatar
slothrob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1768
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:36 pm
Location: Greater Boston

Re: Problem loading recipe from BeerTools.com

Postby billvelek » Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:50 pm

slothrob wrote:
jeff wrote:
Does the problem occur if you logout before closing the online window?

No, it doesn't. Logging out prior to closing the window seems to prevent the problem.

As I said, I didn't have the problem, but I'm also pretty sure that I didn't "log out"; I hardly ever log-out from any site and just close the window instead. Probably a very bad habit, but there you have it.

Cheers.

Bill Velek
Visit www.tinyurl.com/bvelek - portal to my brewing sites: 3,100+ members on 'Grow-Hops', and 1,350+ brewers on my 'BrewingEquip' group.
Running BTP v1.5.3 on WinXP 2005 SP3 w/AMD Athlon 64@3800+, 1GigRam, Res 1024x768
User avatar
billvelek
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Arkansas, USA

Re: Problem loading recipe from BeerTools.com

Postby slothrob » Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:55 pm

billvelek wrote:As I said, I didn't have the problem, but I'm also pretty sure that I didn't "log out"; I hardly ever log-out from any site and just close the window instead. Probably a very bad habit, but there you have it.

Same here, which seems to be why I had the problem. Yeah, I'm on a mac, which may explain the difference.
BTP v2.0.* Windows XP
User avatar
slothrob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1768
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:36 pm
Location: Greater Boston

Re: Problem loading recipe from BeerTools.com

Postby jeff » Tue Sep 09, 2008 11:19 pm

billvelek wrote:Thanks for all of your hard effort; you have done a phenomenal job!

Cheers.

Bill Velek


Thanks Bill :)
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

Window size error in french

Postby djavet » Wed Sep 10, 2008 12:54 am

Hi Jeff

In french we have this problem withe the size:
Image

Any way to correct it?

Dom
djavet
Double IPA
Double IPA
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 7:24 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Window size error in french

Postby jeff » Wed Sep 10, 2008 2:08 pm

djavet wrote:Hi Jeff

In french we have this problem withe the size:
Image

Any way to correct it?

Dom


The windows that are effected will have to be widened programmatically. Sorry, there is nothing that you can do in the meantime.
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

Liscense Key doesn't work

Postby camelfilter » Sat Sep 13, 2008 10:59 pm

Hey There!

I've downloaded the latest iteration of BT (1.5.11b) and when I try to enter my liscense key it doesn't allow me to register. What am I doing wrong. Let me know! Thanks!

Ryan
rrb828@aol.com
System: Intel Core2 2.66GHz, 3Gb RAM, Vista-32, Dual 21" Monitors, Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTX, Wacom Tablet, Logitech G5 Mouse, Zboard Keyboard,...
camelfilter
Light Lager
Light Lager
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 4:37 pm

Re: Liscense Key doesn't work

Postby jeff » Sun Sep 14, 2008 7:49 am

camelfilter wrote:Hey There!

I've downloaded the latest iteration of BT (1.5.11b) and when I try to enter my liscense key it doesn't allow me to register. What am I doing wrong. Let me know! Thanks!

Ryan
rrb828@aol.com


The latest version is 1.5.1. Is that the version you meant to say or are you downloading a copy of the beta?
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

PreviousNext

Return to BeerTools Pro Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests