Styles of beer

General brewing information, questions and discussion. Topics that do not seem to fit elsewhere.

Moderators: slothrob, 2row

achau

Styles of beer

Post by achau »

Hi,
I am new to homebrewing and have made 2 batches. I enjoy it very much. My questions is what is the definition of the different styles?

Ales
Lager
Pilsner

Is it defined by the type of yeast used, the tastes of the beer, or method of brewing.

Thanks
fitz
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

There are only two types

Post by fitz »

There are only two types of beer
Ales -- top fermenting warmer temp
Lager -- bottom fermenting cooler temp
Types will affect flavor, but styles are more drastically noticed.
Most American commercial beer is American lager
These beers have many adjuncts and use lager yeast to ferment
Pilsner refers more to a style
There are many styles, you can see most of them in the recipe section of this site.
achau

Thanks for the reply

Post by achau »

Thanks for the reply
Brewer2001
Double IPA
Double IPA

Full discription go to....

Post by Brewer2001 »

Andy,

The beer festival guidelines were posted at www.beertown.org and click on GABF. These are the Craft Brewer (Pubs and Micro) guidelines for the 2004 compitition. This will give you a good starting point for your understanding of beer styles (with out spending money on books).

I do have a comment about the 'top' and 'bottom'
fermenting classification of yeast. Those are the older definitions and apply more to 'purer' yeast strains that were used in the past. All yeast tends to ferment 'on the top' of the beer and sinks to the bottom after fermentation has completed. The real key is the amount that the yeast will flocculate and fall out of suspenssion. This also has to do with temperature of the beer and the type of equipment that is being used. In general ale yeast ferment at a warmer temperatures (with the exception of Scottish yeasts) and lager yeast can ferment a cooler temperatures (or should).