I get an error every time i try to order a kit!

Discussion and topics about BeerTools.com online calculators and other tools.

Moderator: jeff

I get an error every time i try to order a kit!

Postby timmse » Fri May 23, 2003 2:14 pm

Hi all

every time i try to order one of the new kits I get an error, anyone else get that?
timmse
Light Lager
Light Lager
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2002 5:05 pm
Location: odense, fy, DK

What kind of error?

Postby jeff » Fri May 23, 2003 4:59 pm

Some people have experienced errors using specific browsers that have a known bug that prevents them from accessing our secure server. Often the message: "Page Cannot Be Displayed" is all the browser will reveal. We have done some research into the issue. What browser are you using?
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1403
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

thats the one

Postby timmse » Sat May 24, 2003 3:51 am

i get the page cannot be displayed error. Im using version 6.0.2600.0000.xpclient.010817-1148
timmse
Light Lager
Light Lager
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2002 5:05 pm
Location: odense, fy, DK

Well, I'll tell you what I know

Postby jeff » Sat May 24, 2003 4:24 am

I found a couple pages at Microsoft that seem to address this particular error. The links are:

http://support.microsoft.com/default.as ... s/PCBD.asp
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=241344

The information there is lengthy, and hopefully there is something on those pages that helps. If you find a solution, please post it here because some others may have had the same trouble.

Meanwhile, I will see if there is anything that I can do server side to get to the bottom of this issue. Thanks for your patience.
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1403
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

this is what it said

Postby timmse » Sat May 24, 2003 2:55 pm

This behavior may occur because Internet Explorer is configured to use a proxy server to search when none is specified.

To resolve this issue, configure Internet Explorer to automatically detect settings.

but my explorer is configured to automatically detect settings, the solution was only for 95/98/me so it might be a XP problem. I have not updated with a service pack yet, could this be the problem? Microsoft arent known for perfect software :-)
timmse
Light Lager
Light Lager
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2002 5:05 pm
Location: odense, fy, DK

An option.

Postby jeff » Mon May 26, 2003 1:00 pm

You could try to download another browser such as Netscape. I have both IE and Netscape browsers on my computer and I switch back and forth. Not sure if that would solve the problem, but after reading those pages a Microsoft, seems like alternatives are would be welcome.
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1403
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

Service pack

Postby jeff » Tue Jun 03, 2003 10:48 am

I have done more research on the MSIE issue. It appears that version 5.5 and version 5.01 for Windows 2000, XP, ME, 98, NT 4.0 all need Service Pack 2 to be able to access some secure servers. Some other versions were mentioned here:

http://www.thawte.com/html/SUPPORT/browsers.html

I hope this helps fix the problem.
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1403
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC


Return to BeerTools.com Online Tools

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron