What a Day!

Grains, malts, hops, yeast, water and other ingredients used to brew. Recipe reviews and suggestions.

Moderator: slothrob

BillyBock
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout

What a Day!

Post by BillyBock »

I'm tired....I started brewing today at 9am. But I have 20 gallons to show for my efforts--all extract BTW. I made a Harp's clone and a lawnmower beer. I haven't done extract with steeping grains in ages. But most things went well, except for my massive brain fart. As I was filling the first carboy of the lawnmower beer (the last batch) I noticed it was hot. Too hot. Why? I forgot to turn the water on to my counterflow. Before I knew it I had 2 gallons of boiling wort in there! I moved quickly and turned it on. No cracked carboy fortunately. So now I have to wait for it to cool down to pitching temps--but it's almost there! Ahhhh, but in two weeks I'll resurrect my all grain Guinness recipe. I can't wait, I love stouts. I can taste it now! :-)

v/r
Billy "Where did my brain go?" Bock
Gravity Thrills
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

share Guinness notes?

Post by Gravity Thrills »

How much roasted barley and flaked barley is in your Guinness clone? I have to put 1.5# of roast into a 6.5 gallon batch to get it dark enough, and it takes 2# of flaked barley to get a dense and persistent enough head to mimic the nitro varsion with a regular CO2 keg dispense. Just looking for some notes to compare, becaus I think it's next on my schedule as well.

Cheers,
Jim
BillyBock
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout

Guinness Notes

Post by BillyBock »

For a 5 gal batch, my first few attempts used 1# of roasted barley and 1# of flaked barley. This time I'll up the flaked to 2#.