residual sweetness for spice ale

Grains, malts, hops, yeast, water and other ingredients used to brew. Recipe reviews and suggestions.

Moderator: slothrob

Benjamin1c
Light Lager
Light Lager

residual sweetness for spice ale

Post by Benjamin1c »

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum, but I've been playing around with this hobby on and off for a couple of years now. This seems like a great place to exchange ideas, and so far I've read through some great posts.
I figure my next project will be to try and concoct a relatively strong, spiced holiday ale. The real fun in this hobby, I figure, comes with trying to experiment a little.
(I admit some of my past "experiments" have NOT turned out well... but thats a nother story :-)
Now, I figure, for a spiced ale, why not try and make a little on the sweet side. Caramel/crystal malts, as I understand, serve the dual purpose of both adjusting color AND adding more complex sugars that will tend to stick around after fermentation is complete, regardless of the yeast attenuation level (I figure, using a yeast with lower attenuation might also make some difference?)

Most recipes I've come across call for a pound, sometimes half, of crystal malt. For a sweeter brew, I thought why not up it, to 1 1/2, or possibly 2? question is, how much is too much, and are there any drawbacks to using so much? Any ideas might help, tx
slothrob

Crystal Malt

Post by slothrob »

The amount of Crystal Malt you can get away with depends on your personal taste, the attenuation of the yeast you're using, and the beer style.

I didn't want to jump in here, because I tend to prefer drier beer and I lean toward lower amounts of Crystal Malt. I typically use 0.25-0.5# (or 0# when appropriate to the style) for any beer that I want to finish dry. I'll occasionally drift up to 0.75# and maybe even 1# for a beer like an Amber, Porter or Brown Ale, that I want to have a sweeter, thicker finish.