need help brewing a scotch ale

Grains, malts, hops, yeast, water and other ingredients used to brew. Recipe reviews and suggestions.

Moderator: slothrob

jibfest89

need help brewing a scotch ale

Post by jibfest89 »

I'm fairly new to brewing and I want to try out a scotch ale recipe I found on here. here is the link http://www.beertools.com/html/recipe.php?view=7081

anyways I had a couple questions about it. first of all that seems like a LOT of molasses from what I've read, but the author said he substituted it for dark malt extract, so does that seem like it would work? Also when would I add the molasses and the heather?
jmorignot
Light Lager
Light Lager

Re: need help brewing a scotch ale

Post by jmorignot »

jibfest89 wrote:I'm fairly new to brewing and I want to try out a scotch ale recipe I found on here. here is the link http://www.beertools.com/html/recipe.php?view=7081

anyways I had a couple questions about it. first of all that seems like a LOT of molasses from what I've read, but the author said he substituted it for dark malt extract, so does that seem like it would work? Also when would I add the molasses and the heather?
Well add the molasses in the boil?!
About the oats I'm surprised that he didn't mash them?! I always thought oats flakes required a mash? Experts, your thoughts about it? Partial Mash or simple steeping for that recipe?
slothrob

Scotch Ale

Post by slothrob »

A Scotch Ale is out of my comfort zone, and this one seems like more of a specialty or Christmas beer, so I didn't want to comment. I do think that the amount of sugar in this recipe is very high, though. Almost 30% of the fermentables come from sugars, either Molasses or Lyle's Syrup. This is quite high, and will probably result in a beer that takes some time to age, maybe a year or more. I'd ferment this close to 60°F, to minimize problems from this.