all grain superior?.....

Grains, malts, hops, yeast, water and other ingredients used to brew. Recipe reviews and suggestions.

Moderator: slothrob

cubangoose
Light Lager
Light Lager

all grain superior?.....

Post by cubangoose »

I have been brewing for about six months now and am wondering what the advantages to all-grain brewing are. Is all grain brewing superior? I have a good understanding of the technique I am just wondering is it worth the extra work?
BillyBock
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout

It's All Up to You

Post by BillyBock »

There are many reasons to go all grain. The biggest one for me was simply the complete control it gave me. There are simply some things you can't do with extract that you can do with all grain--like changing the fermentability of the wort. With extract, that's already determined for you. If you use steeping grains with extract, you're also limited to only malts for color (chocolate, black, etc.) and caramel type malts, otherwise you'd put unconverted starch in the wort. You also have complete control over the hopping schedule--although if you use unhopped extract you can too. Once you get over the equipment investment, the price per batch is also a big plus--$0.80 to $1.50 per pound for grain typically. It does make for a slightly longer day, and there's a little more equipment to clean, but to me it's a heck of a lot fresher.

That's my 2 cents. Let's see what others chime in with.

v/r
Bill
Azorean Brewer
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

A Few others ...

Post by Azorean Brewer »