need pointers on 10 gallon system

Buying, building and using brewing equipment and apparatus. Product reviews and questions.

Moderator: slothrob

bredmakr
Double IPA
Double IPA

need pointers on 10 gallon system

Post by bredmakr »

I have been making my own beer for three years and currently brew 5 gallon partial mash recipes. I have decided that I would like to upgrade my equipment to allow for 10 gallon all grain brewing. Being my first step into the world of all grain brewing I have found the amount of equipment available is overwhelming. Can anyone help me clear the water? How much do I really need to spend. Is it worth trying to buy individual pieces here and there or should I buy everything form one supplier?
andytv
Double IPA
Double IPA

Not as bad as you think!

Post by andytv »

It's remarkable that you and I are taking the exact same steps forward towards 10gal all grain brewing. I now am ready to start, and here is how my brewclub approached equipment needs;

1) brewpot - You will need at least a 16gal brewpot. Your alternatives are as such;

a) Buy an inexpensive enameled pot for about $40. I saw them on the web, but I don't remember where. The drawback to this is that it is just a pot.
b) By a "brewpot". Brewtek.com had the best deal out there. $150 for a 15 gallon pot (stainless stell) that has a spigot with an adjustable racking tube. This allows you to do all-grain double batches (10gal) or partial mash triples. We chose this approach.
c) www.kegs.com (Sabco) features brewkettles made out of stainless kegs (but very $$$)