Conical vs Carboy

Buying, building and using brewing equipment and apparatus. Product reviews and questions.

Moderator: slothrob

sphbeer

Conical vs Carboy

Post by sphbeer »

I am tempted to buy a 12.2 gal stainless steel temp controlled conical. I have four 6.5 gal carboys which I keep very busy. I keep eight 5 gal cornie kegs going almost full time with 5 beers on tap full time.

I have heard all the pros and cons (mostly pros) on conicals but just cannot get there. I have a chest freezer with all the temp controls possible for the fermentation processs. I even concidered going with two 7.1 conicals and using my freezer, but space would be an issue.

I would like to know from those who have gone to using conicals your thoughts on use and where you made your purchase.
Brewer2001
Double IPA
Double IPA

I posted on this a while back...

Post by Brewer2001 »

Beer,

I am a pro brewer and have bought a brewhouse and am trying to buy a couple of 7 BBl conicals. So I have a little different take on the use of this equipment.

I would not buy the plastic ones. As you stated stainless is the way to go. However I question the one that Beer, Beer and More Beer sells. They have the stainless or plexiglass tops that use a bubbler. That configuration cannot be used as a pressure vessel, should you decide to 'bung' the tank and 'naturally' carbonate your beer. I have visited Larry's Brew Supply here in Seattle, they make a good 2 bbl conical (62 gal.) that can be pressurized and is jacketed.

Now the other problem is temperature control. You need to control the temperature between 32-68 deg. F at specific times. During fermentation 68 deg F. for ales and 48-50 deg. F for lagers. Your system must be able to 'crash' chill down to 32 deg. F. for both types of beers.