Kegging Q

Buying, building and using brewing equipment and apparatus. Product reviews and questions.

Moderator: slothrob

jayhawk
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

Kegging Q

Post by jayhawk »

Ok, so I'm seriously considering of acquiring a kegging outfit. The most viable option seems to be the 5gal corny kegs. Questons:
1) How important is it for the beer to be chilled while force carbonating? I am a poor student, and I don't have the room nor the cash to acquire a separate keg fridge. Therefore, can I still get good carbonation if the beer is at room temp? Are there ways to compensate for the higher temp of the beer?
2)Since I won't have a fridge, I was thinking of running the beer line through an ice box to chill it. Besides the obvious hassle of having to ice down the line everytime I want a beer, are there any problems with this set up? Will I encounter excessive foaming from a setup like this?

Thanks
Chris
Push Eject
Double IPA
Double IPA

Chilling = vital

Post by Push Eject »

According to carbonation charts you can successfully force carbonate up to around 60 deg by raising your pressure considerably.

However, in my personal experience, if the beer is warmer than 42 degrees it takes forever to get the carbonation right.

As far as using a jockey box for dispensing beer, go ahead. That's a totally acceptable way to do it. If you keep the temperature of the coil consistant from top to bottom you shouldn't have a lot of foaming issues.

Of course, for the price of a good jockey box I'll bet you could find a small used refridgerator... :)

Cheers.
KBrau
Pale Ale
Pale Ale

Keg Fridge

Post by KBrau »