Another question--This time, All Grain

Brewing processes and methods. How to brew using extract, partial or all-grain. Tips and tricks.

Moderator: slothrob

Cheers
Light Lager
Light Lager

Another question--This time, All Grain

Post by Cheers »

Now that I have been extract brewing for quite awhile, I am making the jump to all grain. My extract has been done in a turkey fryer all this time and I bought a second one to go to all grain. What should my next step be? I don't want to extract on my next batch so I am ready to do what it takes. I know I have to get a couple of weldless kits to make my pots useable, but what else do I need? Also, since this is my first time, what temp should both pots remain at? What about the third? Does temp matter on that one? Thanks for all your help.
Team Beer
Light Lager
Light Lager

1st step to making the jump

Post by Team Beer »

The very first thing you need to decide is how big you want your system to be ( 5 gallons, 10 etc ). Remember unlike extract you will be boiling your enire batch. So if you want 5 gals of beer you will need a pot you can boil all 5 gals. I say this because I am little worried about the volume of a turkey fryer. I hope I do not get in trouble for this but I highly recommend checking out the all grain systems from morebeer.com. If nothing else you can get a feel as to what you will need.
Freon12
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

Morebeer.com

Post by Freon12 »

I ordered the Rubbermaid system from (b-500?) from morebeer.com(second mention) and have used it for two years now with great results.

The best thing about it was the mash tun. A false bottom is a must, and it was not too much money(relative to the project and great for apartment space brewing).

You can make a mash tun and use a regular cooler for the hot liquor or you can use a large one with a copper manifold in the bottom to do that sparge-mash all in one deal. or, a zap pap(see Charlie Papazian) two 5 gallon bucket system.(real cheap, but effective).