Gravity thrills: no sparge cont'd

Brewing processes and methods. How to brew using extract, partial or all-grain. Tips and tricks.

Moderator: slothrob

jayhawk
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

Gravity thrills: no sparge cont'd

Post by jayhawk »

I am an all grain newbie, bear with me.
How long is your rest before beginning the second runnings? Can you elaborate on the "greater control you get" with your method? Do you ever need to acidify the water for your second runnings? Do you need to increase your grain bill with this method?

PS This is in regards to a previous thread from earlier in August.
Gravity Thrills
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

The beauty of the batch sparge

Post by Gravity Thrills »

Jayhawk,

Welcome to the land of the hardcore all-grain brewers!

Batch sparging is really simple, and I wish someone had turned me on to it when I first started all-grain.

First, credit to Ken Schwartz, who has a lot of great online info and raelly spelled out the concept of batch sparging nicely (I forget the site, but have it somewhere - I'll dig it out).

batch sparging is good for the homebrewer because it is very hard with out cobbled together brew-works to get sparging right - matching the inflow with the outflow to maintain 1 inch of water over the grain, etc. Plus, as was pointed out in a thread yesterday, pH gets very high toward the end of the sparge and this can make your beer astringent. Most people carefully monitor gravity and/or pH during the sparge and start when pH gets too high of garvity falls below 1.009 of so.

Instead, figure out the total boil volume you want to collect. Divide that number in half and these are the approximate volumes of water you want to catch in you batch of first runnings and your batch of second runnings. I collect 16 gallons (usually for two simultaneous brews), so I need to collect 8 gallons of first runnings and 8 gallons of second runnings.