Cold Haze

Brewing processes and methods. How to brew using extract, partial or all-grain. Tips and tricks.

Moderator: slothrob

Cheers
Light Lager
Light Lager

Cold Haze

Post by Cheers »

What is the best way to get rid of a cold haze? The last 3 or 4 batches I have made have come out a great color and crystal clear when at room temp. The problem that I am having is, like most Americans, I like to drink cold beer. When I chill the beer it turns very cloudy. It still tastes good, but I am wanting a beer that looks as good as it tastes. Any help would be great. Thanks.
Cheers
Light Lager
Light Lager

Thanks Mesa, but.....

Post by Cheers »

I am using Irish Moss. I'll try hydrating it next time. I've never tried that before.

I honestly have no idea what it is that is causing the haze. All I know is, if I pour the beer at room temp, it is crystal clear. If it is cold, you can not see through it at all. I am an extract brewer if that makes a differance. Any ideas on which of these options it could be. Thanks again for all your help.
Bud Wiser

Try another additive before bottling maybe?

Post by Bud Wiser »

Have you ever tried adding Divergan to your secondary fermentor? It's specifically designed to prevent chill haze so I would suggest giving it a try.
Mesa Maltworks
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

Divergan = Trade Name for PVPP

Post by Mesa Maltworks »

Divergan is a specific manufacturer's name (BASF) for PVPP. All PVPP is the same regardless of manufacturer. This additive can work, but as I mentioned in my first post, it may need to be filtered out.

Eric
Mesa Maltworks
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

Use stoneware mugs! ... no, really...

Post by Mesa Maltworks »

Well... first what type of haze do you have ?

1) Biological Haze ?

-Bacteria, brewers & wild yeast are the most common culprits.