Right Temp?

Brewing processes and methods. How to brew using extract, partial or all-grain. Tips and tricks.

Moderator: slothrob

djphillies

Right Temp?

Post by djphillies »

I am just getting started and I would like to know the proper temperature range for fermenting ales, ambers, and porters. The area I would like to do this is my basement which is about 65 degrees. Do I need to get around 68 or higher. If so, any suggestions? I did see one device in the BYO mag. but is was powered by a light bulb as a heat(in a storage box made of wood and foam). I thought that light was a not good in the fermentation process.
Dr Strangebrew
Pale Ale
Pale Ale

Can't say for sure but...

Post by Dr Strangebrew »

During fermentation yeast will produce heat. For example, I keep the ambient temp of my fermentation area at 65 degrees F. My ales ferment at 68-70 degrees which is great for the yeast strains that I use. The temperature that you use should depend on the yeast company's reccomendations for the specific strain of yeast you are using. Many companies, Wyeast, Whitelabs, and I think Danstar have the temps for their strains on the web.

Off the top of my head, I think that just about all Wyeast and whitelabs yeasts ferment around your temp. You are probably fine, but I would find the temp reccommendations from your yeast company to know for sure, but remember yeast will produce their own heat, so you will probably want the ambient temp a few degrees colder than the reccommended temp. Hope I helped.

nate
Bowhunter
Light Lager
Light Lager

Light Bulb

Post by Bowhunter »

I agree with Brewers Ody. You will find the recommended temperatures on the yeast package. In reference to beer not liking light, thats correct. I built a fermenting box that will hold four six gallon carboys. I installed a heat control using two 100 watt BLUE light bulbs and a muffin fan to circulate the heat. Works great.

Tom
djphillies

Ok

Post by djphillies »