BeerTools Pro Bug Reports Archive B

Found a problem? Post details on BeerTools Pro errors and how they are caused.

Ingredient Window Behavior..

Postby wottaguy » Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am

Sometimes I'll list more than 1 yeast that can be used in a recipe, and they are usually displayed on the bottom of the ingrediant list of the ingrediant window.

When I uncheck any ingrediant that is lower on the list, the window refreshes and the focus jumps back to the first item listed in the list. I am always forced to scroll down the list to be able to view the change or to make other changes. Is there a way to prevent this change of focus from jumping to the top of the list whenever a checkbox is de-selected or selected from an item that resides lower in the list?
I find this behaviour quite annoying to have to scroll down every time I make a change in my ingrediant selection.

BTP 1.5.4b

(_)3

Reviewed.

ahhh...nevermind, i see that if I select the ingrediant first then check or uncheck, the focus stays where it should be. I was just checking and unchecking certain items without selecting them first..then after the click, the focus would jump to the default selected item, usualy the first one in the list.

I guess i'm too fast to write..sorry! :oops:
Visit my blog @ http://www.wottashomebrewblog.blogspot.com

On Tap:
HL Pale Ale
HL Lite Lager
Bottled:
HL Simcoe Pale Ale
HL Wizeguy Weizenbock
HL Reveur Saison
HL Dry Stout
HL Kentucky Common
User avatar
wottaguy
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 10:00 am
Location: Florida

Postby dasein668 » Wed Apr 16, 2008 10:07 pm

I just changed my preferences to display hops in grams, but my existing recipes are all still showing hops in ounces. (1.5.4b) If I create a new recipe, it shows as grams.

Edit: this seems to apply to all "measurement" preferences that apply to ingredients. (Changing color measurement model, for example, updates on existing recipes, but changing fermentables from lbs to ozs doesn't update.)
Nathan

v1.5.2

1.83 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Macbook | 2.0 gig DDR2 RAM | Boot ROM MB21.00A5.B07 | SMC Version 1.13f3 | 1280x800 | OSX 10.4.11
dasein668
Pale Ale
Pale Ale
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:45 pm

Postby jeff » Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:04 am

dasein668 wrote:I just changed my preferences to display hops in grams, but my existing recipes are all still showing hops in ounces. (1.5.4b) If I create a new recipe, it shows as grams.

Edit: this seems to apply to all "measurement" preferences that apply to ingredients. (Changing color measurement model, for example, updates on existing recipes, but changing fermentables from lbs to ozs doesn't update.)


This is correct. If you want to convert an existing recipe to another set of units, you may use the Recipe->Convert Units tool.
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1404
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

Postby dasein668 » Thu Apr 17, 2008 7:06 am

Hmm. Ok, thanks.
Nathan

v1.5.2

1.83 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Macbook | 2.0 gig DDR2 RAM | Boot ROM MB21.00A5.B07 | SMC Version 1.13f3 | 1280x800 | OSX 10.4.11
dasein668
Pale Ale
Pale Ale
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:45 pm

Shopping Lists

Postby dasein668 » Mon Apr 21, 2008 8:50 am

Yeast does not seem to be showing up in my ingredients/shopping list even though I don't have the yeast in question in stock. (I also question whether or not yeasts are going to get deducted from inventory, if I have them in inventory, though I haven't tested this.)
Nathan

v1.5.2

1.83 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Macbook | 2.0 gig DDR2 RAM | Boot ROM MB21.00A5.B07 | SMC Version 1.13f3 | 1280x800 | OSX 10.4.11
dasein668
Pale Ale
Pale Ale
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:45 pm

2 display issues with ingredients

Postby wactuary » Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:04 pm

1) At certain times when an item is in the ingredient list, the quantity field is not readable as the font is white and background is extremely light. When the row is selected, this is not a problem as the background becomes a dark brown and black or white text appears clearly.

2) The text in the description can extend beyond the window size. Mousing over does not prompt a text box to show full text. I could stretch the column to show most of the information usually. I couldn't see how to see the rest of the information. This may be a feature request rather than bug. I couldn't decide.

See the screenshot below:


Image

Using 1.5.5

Reviewed.
Main: Asus P5B Dlx with e6600 (Conroe), 2GB Ram, Nvidia 7600GS, 1280x1024, Fully updated Ubuntu 8.04 w/ Backports repository enabled (64bit version), 1.5.11 beta installed, Sun Java-6
wactuary
Light Lager
Light Lager
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 9:02 am

Re: Shopping Lists

Postby dasein668 » Thu Apr 24, 2008 8:50 am

dasein668 wrote:Yeast does not seem to be showing up in my ingredients/shopping list even though I don't have the yeast in question in stock. (I also question whether or not yeasts are going to get deducted from inventory, if I have them in inventory, though I haven't tested this.)


Ummm. Right. Never mind. User error. :oops:

Yeast/Shopping Lists/Inventory is actually working fine.
Nathan

v1.5.2

1.83 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Macbook | 2.0 gig DDR2 RAM | Boot ROM MB21.00A5.B07 | SMC Version 1.13f3 | 1280x800 | OSX 10.4.11
dasein668
Pale Ale
Pale Ale
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:45 pm

Postby dasein668 » Sat Apr 26, 2008 9:04 pm

Maybe I'm doing something wrong....

I just tried to change the Malt Water Absorbtion setting in the preferences, but when I click ok the figure reverts to the original setting.

Fixed in version 1.5.6.
Nathan

v1.5.2

1.83 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Macbook | 2.0 gig DDR2 RAM | Boot ROM MB21.00A5.B07 | SMC Version 1.13f3 | 1280x800 | OSX 10.4.11
dasein668
Pale Ale
Pale Ale
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:45 pm

Postby slothrob » Sun Apr 27, 2008 6:30 am

dasein668 wrote:I just tried to change the Malt Water Absorbtion setting in the preferences, but when I click ok the figure reverts to the original setting.

Apparently, you need to type in the change, hit <return> to get the cursor out of the number field, then hit OK. If you don't hit <return> the change doesn't take.
BTP v2.0.* Windows XP
User avatar
slothrob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1768
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:36 pm
Location: Greater Boston

Postby dasein668 » Sun Apr 27, 2008 8:18 am

slothrob wrote:
dasein668 wrote:I just tried to change the Malt Water Absorbtion setting in the preferences, but when I click ok the figure reverts to the original setting.

Apparently, you need to type in the change, hit <return> to get the cursor out of the number field, then hit OK. If you don't hit <return> the change doesn't take.


Ok, that seems to work.
Nathan

v1.5.2

1.83 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Macbook | 2.0 gig DDR2 RAM | Boot ROM MB21.00A5.B07 | SMC Version 1.13f3 | 1280x800 | OSX 10.4.11
dasein668
Pale Ale
Pale Ale
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 4:45 pm

Schedule display changes

Postby vineer » Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:49 am

When the schedule is displayed, clicking the up or down arrow on the attenuation field above, the Final Temp, Available, and Collected columns change to inappropriate values.

Reviewed.
Dell Latitude Laptop. Intel Pentium 1.73GHz, 512MB ram, Linux kernel 2.6, Ubuntu 7.04
vineer
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:02 pm
Location: Upstate NY

control Z (undo) crash 1.5.4

Postby yeager1977 » Tue Apr 29, 2008 10:49 am

When I was editing a recipe I clicked the wrong button to and created a new recipe (I hit the plus sign) I then automatically pressed ctrl-z and the app stopped. This was on vista home premium.

Reviewed.
Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy. - Ben Franklin

System Specs
1GB Ram
1.7ghz duo core AMD Athlon 64
Windows Vista Home
Also misc linux boxes running Ubuntu and Redhat.
yeager1977
Light Lager
Light Lager
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:13 pm
Location: Up Shit Creek

Postby mrkristofo » Thu May 01, 2008 8:32 am

In 1.5.5 & 1.5.6, after duplicating a dated recipe, and unchecking the date box & saving, the new recipe still shows a date listed in the recipes folder.

Reviewed.
15" MBP 2.4GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM, 1440 x 1200, OSX 10.5.3
mrkristofo
Light Lager
Light Lager
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 6:47 pm

Postby mrkristofo » Thu May 01, 2008 8:40 am

Recipes of the same name, different brew dates won't save. Pops up the error "Another recipe of that same name already exists." However, I have numerous duplicates of the same name, different date previously stored in the folder. (Basically, the folder is a brew-log that I sort by date).

Reviewed.
15" MBP 2.4GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM, 1440 x 1200, OSX 10.5.3
mrkristofo
Light Lager
Light Lager
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 6:47 pm

Priming carbonation rates

Postby Bob57702 » Sat May 03, 2008 10:54 am

I'm not sure if this is a bug or just my lack of knowledge. I've been switching through several recipes looking at the amount of corn sugar to add to have a CO2 volume of 2.5 (just picked that value). At 68F with 5.0 gallons I would get 4.02, 4.11, 4.38, and 4.4 specifically for each recipe. For instance I have two different recipes at 5.0 gals, 68.0F, and SG = 1.016. One would be 4.38oz and the other would be 4.02oz for 2.5 volumes of CO2. Am I missing something here? Are there more variables that I'm not aware of?

Edited: Testing 1.5.6

Reviewed.
Bob
PC: I7-3770S CPU, Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit, 12 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD, 1920x1080 HD touchscreen
Bob57702
Pale Ale
Pale Ale
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Black Hills of South Dakota

PreviousNext

Return to BeerTools Pro Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron