BeerTools Pro Bug Reports Archive B

Found a problem? Post details on BeerTools Pro errors and how they are caused.

Verified, etc.

Postby slothrob » Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:11 am

Thanks for the "Verified" and "Reviewed" labels. It's a thoughtful acknowledgment of peoples efforts to test the program.

You're welcome. :wink:
BTP v2.0.* Windows XP
User avatar
slothrob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1770
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 12:36 pm
Location: Greater Boston

Downloaded Mildred's Irish Red II for the first time

Postby a_daley » Mon Mar 31, 2008 11:12 pm

Using everything set to metric on version 1.5.3 when loading from BeerTools Online - Evaporation Loss, Evap/Hour and Water Volume Added changed to gal even though using a personally created template. Same thing happened with the size of serving - changed to 12 oz.

Fixed in version 1.5.4.
User avatar
a_daley
Double IPA
Double IPA
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 4:09 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Downloaded Mildred's Irish Red II for the first time

Postby jeff » Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:15 am

a_daley wrote:Using everything set to metric on version 1.5.3 when loading from BeerTools Online - Evaporation Loss, Evap/Hour and Water Volume Added changed to gal even though using a personally created template. Same thing happened with the size of serving - changed to 12 oz.


This is more an issue with the recipe library API than BTP itself. The API delivers recipes in one set of units and BTP loads the recipes as they come. When I read your posts about the tedium of converting downloaded recipes, I decided to implement the conversion utility released in v1.5.3. One of the few things it doesn't convert is serving size.

After you download a recipe, open up the Recipe->Convert Units tool and select your preferred units. Click OK and the recipe will be converted. Does this make things easier than before, or is it still difficult to work with?
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1413
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 8:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

Downloaded Mildred's Irish Red II for the first time

Postby a_daley » Tue Apr 01, 2008 4:00 pm

Suppose I expected 1.5.3 to convert everything after I had converted it already to metric online then having to convert it again and change the serving size manually because it didn't change this (after using recipe/Convert Units) but it is easier.
User avatar
a_daley
Double IPA
Double IPA
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 4:09 am
Location: New Zealand

Regarding adding Gypsum to a recipe

Postby a_daley » Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:45 pm

I have finally added Gypsum as a special ingredient because I can't use Mineral Salts under My Ingredients either... It just won't save in the recipes I try and create. Unless I'm doing something really stupid... which is very likely.
User avatar
a_daley
Double IPA
Double IPA
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 4:09 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Regarding adding Gypsum to a recipe

Postby jeff » Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:39 pm

a_daley wrote:I have finally added Gypsum as a special ingredient because I can't use Mineral Salts under My Ingredients either... It just won't save in the recipes I try and create. Unless I'm doing something really stupid... which is very likely.


The problem exists with water chem and not you. In the first edition of BTP, salts were exclusively handled in the water chem window. This worked ok, but now the assets library changes everything. It seems like salts should be just like any other ingredient; which will be the case soon. My idea is to take water chem out of the recipe scope and into the global scope making it a general tool like the calculators window. Then mineral salts can be estimated using the tool, and then the information could be used to make additions to recipes. Instead of saving the water chem window with every recipe, just the mineral salts will be saved along with the other ingredients. That's the plan anyway.
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1413
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 8:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

Shopping List

Postby slothrob » Wed Apr 02, 2008 12:50 pm

If I add a recipe to the Planned Folder, open the shopping list then Plan and Assemble 0.6 of a recipe (i.e., 3 gallon version of a 5 gallon recipe) the ingredient amounts agree.

If I change the Planned to 0.625, then back to or 0.6, the values increase for the 0.625 change, but don't come back down with the 0.6 change. At this point the Planned and Assembled both say 0.6, but the absolute amounts differ in the 2 columns. If I close and open the Shopping List window (click Done), the discrepancy persists.

Fixed in version 1.5.4.
BTP v2.0.* Windows XP
User avatar
slothrob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1770
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 12:36 pm
Location: Greater Boston

Postby dasein668 » Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:15 pm

I'm not sure if this qualifies as a "bug" but more of a "tweak" perhaps. Sorry if it should be somewhere else...

The qty field for Whirlflock Tablets lists the qty as "tsp" where it should be "each" or "tablets" or "units" or some other form of measure then tsp. Absurdly minor, admittedly, but... :wink:

Edit: I note that in the recipe it lists as 1ea but in my inventory it is 1.0tsp. Even though the labels don't match, it does deduct 1tsp from inventory in the "shopping" window.
Nathan

v1.5.2

1.83 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Macbook | 2.0 gig DDR2 RAM | Boot ROM MB21.00A5.B07 | SMC Version 1.13f3 | 1280x800 | OSX 10.4.11
dasein668
Pale Ale
Pale Ale
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 3:45 pm

Postby dasein668 » Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:29 pm

Something else minor that I noticed in .5.3b: There is no label next to the efficiency field any more...

Fixed in version 1.5.4.
Nathan

v1.5.2

1.83 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Macbook | 2.0 gig DDR2 RAM | Boot ROM MB21.00A5.B07 | SMC Version 1.13f3 | 1280x800 | OSX 10.4.11
dasein668
Pale Ale
Pale Ale
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 3:45 pm

Program closing on odd occasion

Postby a_daley » Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:50 pm

Because this has only happened twice, but once you restart the program it is fine.

Error message: Program has caused an error and needs to close Do you wish to send a report to microsoft? Yes or No are the only options avaliable.

***No error codes or real information is given in the window***

You are not given any option to see the report which normally only happens when programmers change the error reporting methods in their applications.

Happened both times when I was downloading a recipe from BeerTools Online and it closed all BTP windows.

Really need a patch to see where the error is actually occurring so I can give you more info...

I have also just run a memory test on the PC just to verify it isn't a case of a bad section of RAM. (RAM usage 24%)
User avatar
a_daley
Double IPA
Double IPA
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 4:09 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Program closing on odd occasion

Postby jeff » Fri Apr 04, 2008 7:40 pm

a_daley wrote:Because this has only happened twice, but once you restart the program it is fine.

Error message: Program has caused an error and needs to close Do you wish to send a report to microsoft? Yes or No are the only options avaliable.

***No error codes or real information is given in the window***

You are not given any option to see the report which normally only happens when programmers change the error reporting methods in their applications.

Happened both times when I was downloading a recipe from BeerTools Online and it closed all BTP windows.

Really need a patch to see where the error is actually occurring so I can give you more info...

I have also just run a memory test on the PC just to verify it isn't a case of a bad section of RAM. (RAM usage 24%)


Which recipes caused the error?
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1413
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 8:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

Which recipes caused the error?

Postby a_daley » Fri Apr 04, 2008 10:18 pm

Both errors happened when I tried to load recipes I had previously loaded.

Trying to load Mildred's Irish Red II for the second time... & Stout It Out Loud for the second time...
User avatar
a_daley
Double IPA
Double IPA
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 4:09 am
Location: New Zealand

Recipes won't delete unless opened

Postby a_daley » Sat Apr 05, 2008 7:34 pm

If I open BTP with no open recipes then highlight a recipe by right clicking the mouse and select delete it doesn't delete. If I select the recipe & use the button on the toolbar deletes fine or if I open the recipe first then deletes via rright click with out a problem.

Fixed in version 1.5.4.
User avatar
a_daley
Double IPA
Double IPA
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 4:09 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Recipes won't delete unless opened

Postby a_daley » Sat Apr 05, 2008 8:45 pm

a_daley wrote:If I open BTP with no open recipes then highlight a recipe by right clicking the mouse and select delete it doesn't delete. If I select the recipe & use the button on the toolbar deletes fine or if I open the recipe first then deletes via rright click with out a problem.

Fixed in version 1.5.4.


Unfortunately I still have exactly the same problem in version 1.5.4 - It will work provided I have a recipe open it doesn't matter what one - even if it isn't one I'm not going to delete - but if I don't have any open at all the problem remains the same.
Last edited by a_daley on Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
a_daley
Double IPA
Double IPA
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 4:09 am
Location: New Zealand

Lock and Scale option

Postby a_daley » Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:40 pm

Thanks Jeff for fixing the Lock and Scale option - Muchly appreciated
User avatar
a_daley
Double IPA
Double IPA
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 4:09 am
Location: New Zealand

PreviousNext

Return to BeerTools Pro Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron