BeerTools Pro Bug Reports Archive A

Found a problem? Post details on BeerTools Pro errors and how they are caused.

Re: Save as bug

Postby jeff » Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:58 pm

ColoradoBrewer wrote:I just experienced this in v.22 as well. The file is one that I imported from ProMash when I first got BTP several months ago. The file was saved in the BTP format (.btp extension) and has functioned normally until today when I tried to use "save as", then the .rec extension ( for a ProMash recipe file) was added. This was in spite of the fact that I had chosen to save the file in BTP format. I found that the work around is to type the .btp extension in the filename box. Incidentally, even though BTP assigned the .rec extension on it's own I was unable to open the file when choosing .rec as the file type.


Does it happen only with "Save As" or "Save" when first saving a recipe too?
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1413
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

Re: Save as bug

Postby ColoradoBrewer » Mon Mar 26, 2007 6:12 pm

jeff wrote:
ColoradoBrewer wrote:I just experienced this in v.22 as well. The file is one that I imported from ProMash when I first got BTP several months ago. The file was saved in the BTP format (.btp extension) and has functioned normally until today when I tried to use "save as", then the .rec extension ( for a ProMash recipe file) was added. This was in spite of the fact that I had chosen to save the file in BTP format. I found that the work around is to type the .btp extension in the filename box. Incidentally, even though BTP assigned the .rec extension on it's own I was unable to open the file when choosing .rec as the file type.


Does it happen only with "Save As" or "Save" when first saving a recipe too?
It only happens with "save as". I have used "save" with this file many times without any problems at all. I was using "save as" because I wanted to change some things, but keep the original in tact.
User avatar
ColoradoBrewer
Strong Ale
Strong Ale
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 11:32 am
Location: South of Denver, North of the Springs

Postby djavet » Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:45 am

Glad to see I'm not alone with that Save problem :wink:

Dom
djavet
Double IPA
Double IPA
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 7:24 am
Location: Switzerland

More on "Save As"

Postby ColoradoBrewer » Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:08 am

Jeff, I dug a little deeper into the "save as" bug. At first I was suspicious of ProMash files because of the .rec extension, but it appears that all files, regardless of native format, have the problem. I'm talking about files that I had entered manually into BTP or downloaded from the Beer Tools website. They all functioned as described in my post above; automatically assigned .rec extension when saving although btp was selected, BTP unable to open file even though .rec is selected, and typing the .btp extension in the filename box negates the problem.
User avatar
ColoradoBrewer
Strong Ale
Strong Ale
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 11:32 am
Location: South of Denver, North of the Springs

Re: More on "Save As"

Postby bzwrxbz » Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:29 pm

ColoradoBrewer wrote:Jeff, I dug a little deeper into the "save as" bug. At first I was suspicious of ProMash files because of the .rec extension, but it appears that all files, regardless of native format, have the problem. I'm talking about files that I had entered manually into BTP or downloaded from the Beer Tools website. They all functioned as described in my post above; automatically assigned .rec extension when saving although btp was selected, BTP unable to open file even though .rec is selected, and typing the .btp extension in the filename box negates the problem.


Bug exists on my machine as well...
Windows, Ver22

cheers!
Fermenting : Ordinary Bitter, Hefe
Bottled : Too many bottles

WinXP PentiumIV Res:1920x1200 120DPI

Blog: http://hobbybrau.blogspot.com
User avatar
bzwrxbz
Double IPA
Double IPA
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 8:04 am
Location: The Cold North

OS

Postby jeff » Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:48 pm

XP?
Jeff
BeerTools.com Staff
User avatar
jeff
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 1413
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2000 9:16 pm
Location: Hollywood, SC

Re: OS

Postby bzwrxbz » Tue Mar 27, 2007 12:52 pm

jeff wrote:XP?


Yes for me....
Fermenting : Ordinary Bitter, Hefe
Bottled : Too many bottles

WinXP PentiumIV Res:1920x1200 120DPI

Blog: http://hobbybrau.blogspot.com
User avatar
bzwrxbz
Double IPA
Double IPA
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 8:04 am
Location: The Cold North

Re: OS

Postby ColoradoBrewer » Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:24 pm

jeff wrote:XP?
Yes, for me as well.
User avatar
ColoradoBrewer
Strong Ale
Strong Ale
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 11:32 am
Location: South of Denver, North of the Springs

Postby djavet » Wed Mar 28, 2007 12:51 am

Yes to me too.

Dom
djavet
Double IPA
Double IPA
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 7:24 am
Location: Switzerland

Save Default window called Template Configuration

Postby slothrob » Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:57 am

When saving a recipe as a Default, you're asked first if you want to save as default, then you get a window where you choose which parts of the recipe will be saved in the file. This second window is titled "Template Configuration" and asks you to save the items you want saved in the Template file.

I found this confusing, and closed the windoe to check to see that I had chosen Default, not Template. This wording should probably be changed for the Default save, unless the same window is used for both functions, then it should probably say something like "Template or Default Configuration".
BTP v2.0.* Windows XP
User avatar
slothrob
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1769
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:36 pm
Location: Greater Boston

Postby lucas » Mon May 14, 2007 8:37 am

there looks to be a bug in displaying the approximate colour (ie the little beer in the corner). i accidentally put down 500kg of chocolate malt (as opposed to 500g) and it turned very pale yellow. after more stuffing about it looks as though once the colour goes above 50 or so it begins to recede back down the colour spectrum. a 50 SRM beer looks darker than a 70 SRM beer, which looks much darker than a 400 SRM beer.

not likely a problem that you'd come across except by error, but I'm sure it would be simple to fix with a single if statement
lucas
Light Lager
Light Lager
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 5:01 am

1.0.26 >> Brouwland Ingredients dispear?

Postby djavet » Mon May 14, 2007 9:12 am

Hello

The Brouwland/Brewferm Malt extract + liquid have dispear in version 1.0.26?
I don't found them anymore... is that a bug?

Regards, Dom
djavet
Double IPA
Double IPA
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 7:24 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby lucas » Thu May 17, 2007 8:43 pm

there's a bug in the undo queue (on osx at least)

to reproduce:
1. load a recipe
2. add an ingredient
3. replace another ingredient (using the replace button)
4. undo

expected result: most recent change (the replaced ingredient) should be reverted

actual result: added ingredient is removed, replaced ingredient remains replaced
lucas
Light Lager
Light Lager
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 5:01 am

Same bug in 'Windows XP'

Postby billvelek » Thu May 17, 2007 11:14 pm

lucas wrote:there's a bug in the undo queue (on osx at least)

to reproduce:
1. load a recipe
2. add an ingredient
3. replace another ingredient (using the replace button)
4. undo

expected result: most recent change (the replaced ingredient) should be reverted

actual result: added ingredient is removed, replaced ingredient remains replaced

Yes; I opened a recipe, added four new ingredients, replaced one with a new one, and then as I proceeded with successive 'undo' commands, the ingredients were deleted, but the one that I had replaced never reappeared.

Cheers.

Bill Velek
Visit www.tinyurl.com/bvelek - portal to my brewing sites: 3,100+ members on 'Grow-Hops', and 1,350+ brewers on my 'BrewingEquip' group.
Running BTP v1.5.3 on WinXP 2005 SP3 w/AMD Athlon 64@3800+, 1GigRam, Res 1024x768
User avatar
billvelek
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout
 
Posts: 801
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 10:44 am
Location: Arkansas, USA

Postby lucas » Fri May 18, 2007 12:24 am

just started to wonder, do you guys (jeff and lathe) have a bug tracking system setup? bugzilla or the like? I'm quite happy to just submit bug reports here but if you have a proper system in action I'd rather be submitting straight to it
lucas
Light Lager
Light Lager
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 5:01 am

PreviousNext

Return to BeerTools Pro Bug Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests