Temperature calculations-help

General discussion on BeerTools Pro Software.
laughingparrot

Temperature calculations-help

Post by laughingparrot »

I'm a novice, I admit, but with my former program (BrewSmith) there was a way of calculating I guess what you call a "strike temperature." I was hoping when I filled in the equipment profile on BeerTools Pro there would be a way of telling my what temperature I need to heat my water to so I can add it to 21 lb. of grain in a 57 degree environment to get a 160 degree mash temperature. I don't miss BrewSmith and am thrilled now that BeerTools is out (I'm a Mac guy), but can anyone tell me if there is such a feature in this program?

Thanks and cheers.
slothrob

Strike temperature

Post by slothrob »

You can get a strike temperature for a given recipe by filling in the Schedule field, or by going to the menubar and selecting Window>Calculators>Mash>Strike Temperature.
BTP v2.0.* Windows XP
jawbox
Imperial Stout
Imperial Stout

Post by jawbox »

sloth as usual is on it.
iMac 27", 3.4 GHz Intel Core i5, 8GB Ram, Mac OSX 10.12.6
iPhone 7+
iPad Pro 10.5
I like macs ;)
laughingparrot

Calculators, which one?

Post by laughingparrot »

The calculators are great but I need a bit more clarification:

Thing is I'm working with some recipes that only include the ingredients and I'm trying to figure out the mash steps myself. (I noticed a call for BeerTools recipes that include the mash steps...thank you). I'm having trouble remembering say, how many gallons of water it takes to cover 21 lbs of grain to get that water/grain consistency we need for a good mash.

I can use the Strike Temperature calculator and get the mash temperature exactly at 161 but I might get a watery mash if I don't know exactly how much water to add.