Kudos to the BTP Team

General discussion on BeerTools Pro Software.
ColoradoBrewer
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

Kudos to the BTP Team

Post by ColoradoBrewer »

I just wanted to say how impressed I am with the BTP Team's dedication to customer service. I was having a problem saving ProMash Sessions that had been converted to a recipe file. Jeff asked me to send him a file to look at. He then spent a few hours analyzing code to isolate the problem. This with being extremely busy with all the headaches involved fielding new software. Thanks, Jeff and the BTP Team! You guys are awesome.
boss brew

worth the switch?

Post by boss brew »

Say there ColoradoBrewer, that's a nice "graybeard" you have! How do you feel BTP compares to ProMash? Would you say that it's worth the switch?
Dave
ColoradoBrewer
Strong Ale
Strong Ale

Post by ColoradoBrewer »

Hey Dave, Glad you noticed the beard. :wink:

I have to say that I've been using ProMash for a few years and have been using BTP for only a week. So you have to keep that in mind. I think BTP compares very favorably with PM. Both have a rich suite of utilities that will do just about anything you'd ever need to do. A couple of things that PM has that BTP doesn't is a refractometer utility (but I think one is coming) and in PM recipes and brewing session are saved as different file types. That's important to me because I use my brewing software as much for record keeping as for building recipes. And I'm still having a little trouble building a schedule for batch sparging. Another thing I wish BPT had is context sensitive help with a screen ala ProMash that defines the terms for the section you're working in. But these are minor things and BTP is still evolving and will only get better with time. On the BTP side I like the interface much better than PM, and for someone like me who has to watch their intake the ability to calculate calories and carbohydrates is awesome. So is it worth switching from PM? Only you can decide that, but I